Wildcats ace Sale wins NL Cy Young convincingly

Vancouver ace lefty Chris Sale ran away with the North League Cy Young Award, receiving 10 of 11 first-place votes in becoming the first Wildcats pitcher to receive the honor.

Sale went 17-5 despite losing a month to injury and getting less than four runs of support on average from a Vancouver team that finished 78-84. He led the NL with a 2.29 ERA and a .190 opponents’ batting average and ranked second in strikeouts with 260 in 220 1/3 innings. He topped the PGBL in limiting hitters to a .276 slugging percentage and a .526 slugging percentage.

Sale, who was left off one ballot, finished with 50 points, 35 ahead of runner-up Clayton Kershaw of Chicago. Ottawa’s David Price was third while Calgary’s Kyle Hendricks, who led the NL with 19 wins, received the other first-place vote and tied the Argonauts’ Collin McHugh for fourth.

Sale became the first lefty to win in the 13-year history of the NL award.

Voting totals (first-place votes in parentheses)

1. Chris Sale, Vancouver (10) ……50

2. Clayton Kershaw, Chicago ……..15

3. David Price, Ottawa ………….12

4. Kyle Hendricks, Calgary (1) ……7

(tie) Collin McHugh, Ottawa ………7

6. Adam Wainwright, Pittsburgh ……6

7. Craig Kimbrel, Pittsburgh ……..1

8. Michael Pineda, Cleveland ……..1

Melee’s Cueto wins second SL Cy Young

Memphis Melee right-hander Johnny Cueto received 10 of 11 first-place votes to win the South League Cy Young Award for the second time in four seasons.

Cueto went 20-7 for the Melee with a PGBL-best 2.10 ERA while leading the SL with 254 strikeouts. He limited opposing hitters to a league-lowest .180 batting average.

He was one of five 20-game winners, all from the South League, despite pitching for a Memphis team that finished with a 75-87 record.

The Melee have won seven Cy Youngs among four pitchers, including three-time winner Roy Halladay. Other Memphis winners were Greg Maddux and Odalis Perez. Cueto joins Halladay and Jered Weaver as the only multiple winners.

Cueto, who also received one second-place vote, totaled 53 points to outdistance Oakland’s Dallas Keuchel, who got the other first-place vote after posting a PGBL-best 22-4 record.

Voting totals (first-place votes in parentheses)

1. Johnny Cueto, Memphis (10) … 53

2. Dallas Keuchel, Oakland (1) ……27

3. Julio Teheran, Dublin ……………15

4. Phil Hughes, Oakland ……………..4