Trout to start 6th All-Star Game

Mike Trout has been chosen to start the PGBL All-Star game for a record sixth time, leading an North League lineup that features seven former starters in contrast to the South League’s six first-time selections.

League-leading Oakland matched Ottawa with three players chosen to start. Athletes second baseman DJ LeMahieu will make his first start in his second All-Star game and will be joined by a pair of first-timer teammates in first baseman Carlos Santana and outfielder Jorge Soler.

Argonauts shortstop Carlos Correa earned his third start while catcher Russell Martin and third baseman Josh Donaldson will start for the second time, with Donaldson making his fifth All-Star appearance.

Trout, who had been one of 10 players to make five All-Star starts, will represent the Chicago Cardinals in the initial lineup for a fourth straight year. His sixth appearance leaves him two behind Albert Pujols and one shy of Miguel Cabrera, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez and Adrian Beltre.

Joining him in the NL lineup are four-time starters Freddie Freeman of Pittsburgh and Jose Altuve, now representing Toronto after previously starting for Louisville, London and Oakland.

Now with Louisville, outfielder Christian Yelich will make his fourth SL appearance and third start for a third different team. Representing host Calgary, NL designated hitter J.D. Martinez makes his fourth appearance and second start.

Dublin catcher Willson Contreras starts for the second time, with All-Star rookies Cody Bellinger of Compton, Yoan Moncada of Louisville and Flagstaff teammates Fernando Tatis Jr. and Yordan Alvarez rounding out the SL lineup. Completing the NL squad are a pair of first-timers in outfielder Joc Pederson of London and Austin Meadows of Toronto.

Pitchers and reserves will be announced later, with the game set to be played two weeks from now.

South League

C – Willson Contreras, Dublin
1B – Carlos Santana, Oakland
2B – DJ LeMahieu, Oakland
SS – Fernando Tatis Jr., Flagstaff
3B – Yoan Moncada, Louisville
LF – Jorge Soler, Oakland
CF – Cody Bellinger, Compton
RF – Christian Yelich, Louisville
DH – Yordan Alvarez, Flagstaff
North League
C – Russell Martin, Ottawa
1B – Freddie Freeman, Pittsburgh
2B – Jose Altuve, Toronto
SS – Carlos Correa, Ottawa
3B – Josh Donaldson, Ottawa
LF – Austin Meadows, Toronto
CF – Mike Trout, Chicago
RF – Joc Pederson, London
DH – J.D. Martinez, Calgary

Seven first-time all-stars named starters

Chicago’s Mike Trout will make his fifth All-Star start in seven seasons, while seven newcomers will be in the lineups when the Twin City Truckers host the 2019 PGBL All-Star Game.

Five of the first-time All-Stars will join Trout on the North League starting squad, including left fielder Robbie Grossman who was claimed by Calgary on waivers after a strong first half for Brooklyn.

The other NL first-timers are Vancouver catcher JT Realmuto; Boston second baseman Jeff McNeil; London third baseman Asdrubal Cabrera and Toronto DH Shohei Ohtani. Arsenal outfielder Yasiel Puig rounds out the NL outfield, while Pittsburgh teammates Freddie Freeman and Manny Machado will start at first base and shortstop, respectively.

The South League lineup has just two newcomers in Flagstaff catcher Elias Diaz and Tijuana DH Brandon Nimmo. Dublin first baseman Paul Goldschmidt starts for the third time in five seasons, while Louisville’s Jose Altuve makes his second SL start (2015) and third overall at second base.

St. Louis left fielder David Peralta also makes his first SL start since 2015, while Long Rifles shortstop Francisco Lindor returns for the first time since starting in 2016. Outfielders Christan Yelich of the Athletics and Mookie Betts of the Guinness are back in the starting lineup after a one-year absence. Oakland third-baseman Justin Turner, a two-time reserve, gets the nod at third.

Trout is the only starter from last year’s game chosen to start again this year. Machado and Altuve were NL backups a year ago.

The pitchers and reserves will be announced in the near future.

North League

C – J.T. Realmuto, Vancouver
1B – Freddie Freeman, Pittsburgh
2B – Jeff McNeil, Boston
SS – Manny Machado, Pittsburgh
3B – Asdrubal Cabrera, London
LF – Robbie Grossman, Calgary
CF – Mike Trout, Chicago
RF – Yasiel Puig, London
DH – Shohei Ohtani, Toronto
South League
C – Elias Diaz, Flagstaff
1B – Paul Goldschmidt, Dublin
2B – Jose Altuve, Louisville
SS – Francisco Lindor, Louisville
3B – Justin Turner, Oakland
LF – David Peralta, St. Louis
CF – Christian Yelich, Oakland
RF – Mookie Betts, Dublin
DH – Brandon Nimmo, Tijuana