Stage set for more PGBL postseason history

The two-time defending champions; the reigning South League pennant winners; a first-round rematch of division rivals; and four teams that missed the field a year ago.

The 2018 PGBL playoff field features eight teams that all finished at least 10 games above .500 and have accounted for 17 World Series titles.

The Oakland Athletes hold the No. 1 overall seed for the second time in three seasons, rebounding from the league’s worst record a year ago. The Athletes open the postseason against the similarly resurgent St. Louis Clydesdales, who managed a mere 55 victories in 2017.

The two-time reigning champion Chicago Cardinals will be seeking their seventh championship when start their latest title defense against the Ottawa Argonauts, who return to the postseason after a one-year layoff.

The other North League pairing features a rematch of Maple Leaf Division rivals as the top-seeded Calgary Roughnecks entertain the Vancouver Wildcats. Calgary, which closed the regular season with eight straight wins, took last year’s opening series in four games.

The Dublin Guinness, defending SL champs and the league’s only repeat qualifier, battle the Louisville Long Rifles, who like Chicago are seeking their seventh championship – but their first since 1999.

Oakland is one of three teams in the field to never win the championship. The Roughnecks are the only one of the eight to never win a pennant, while Vancouver’s only NL crown came in 1991 – when the club was still in Calgary.