Darvish, deGrom tabbed to start All-Star Game

Traded for each other before the season, Dublin’s Jacob deGrom and Calgary’s Yu Darvish have been named the starting pitchers for the 2018 All-Star Game to be hosted by the Toronto Tigers at Nationals Park.

South League starter deGrom entered the All-Star break with a 10-2 mark and a sparkling 1.96 ERA for the Guinness, while NL pick Darvish owned a 13-4 mark with a 2.36 ERA.

Calgary acquired Darvish and NL starting third baseman Adrian Beltre along with two other players in a preseason deal with Dublin, with deGrom among a package of three players and four draft picks going to the Guinness.

With deGrom joined by teammate Stephen Strasburg on the SL staff, Dublin matched division rivals Louisville and St. Louis with five representatives apiece. Brandon Belt and Jose Ramirez were named as reserves to accompany starting catcher Willson Contreras.

Louisville’s four additions to starting second baseman Jonathan Schoop are outfielders George Springer and Corey Dickerson, first baseman Ryan Zimmerman and pitcher Max Scherzer. St. Louis will be represented by pitcher Chase Anderson, utility player Chris Taylor, catcher Kevan Smith and starting shortstop Paul DeJong.

League-leading Oakland added pitcher Zack Greinke to its group of four elected starters, while the other six SL teams each had one representative. Brandon Morrow was picked to represent Twin City, David Price for Tijuana, Luke Weaver for Compton and Cesar Hernandez for Flagstaff.

Ottawa and Cleveland each have four players on the NL squad. Pitchers Carlos Carrasco and David Robertson and first baseman Justin Smoak were added to the roster for the Argonauts, while the Tribe had closer Roberto Osuna and shortstop Jean Segura added to their two players voted to the lineup.

Darvish and Beltre are joined by outfielder Tommy Pham in giving Calgary three players on. Boston will also have three representatives with catcher Alex Avila and outfielder Yoenis Cespedes added to the bench.

Second baseman Jose Altuve makes London the only NL team with one All-Star. The host Tigers have Kevin Gausman and Josh Hader on the pitching staff while Pittsburgh’s Manny Machado and Cole Hamels were also among the additions.

Brooklyn outfielder Lonnie Chisenhall completes the NL bench while Vancouver’s Kenta Maeda rounds out the pitching staff.

Jacob deGrom (SP), Dublin
Chase Anderson, St. Louis
Zack Greinke, Oakland
Brandon Morrow, Twin City
David Price, Tijuana
Max Scherzer, Louisville
Stephen Strasburg, Dublin
Luke Weaver, Compton

Brandon Belt, Dublin
Corey Dickerson, Louisville
Cesar Hernandez, Flagstaff
Jose Ramirez, Dublin
Kevan Smith, St. Louis
George Springer, Louisville
Chris Taylor, St. Louis
Ryan Zimmerman, Louisville

RF Avisail Garcia, Oakland
1B Joey Votto, Oakland
CF Aaron Judge, St. Louis
DH Jose Martinez, Las Vegas
2B Jonathan Schoop, Louisville
C Willson Contreras, Dublin
3B Nolan Arenado, Memphis
SS Paul DeJong, St. Louis
LF Rhys Hoskins, Oakland

Yu Darvish (SP), Calgary
Carlos Carrasco, Ottawa
Kevin Gausman, Toronto
Josh Hader, Toronto
Cole Hamels, Pittsburgh
Kenta Maeda, Vancouver
Roberto Osuna, Cleveland
David Robertson, Ottawa

Jose Altuve, London
Alex Avila, Boston
Yoenis Cespedes, Boston
Lonnie Chisenhall, Brooklyn
Manny Machado, Pittsburgh
Tommy Pham, Calgary
Jean Segura, Cleveland
Justin Smoak, Ottawa

C Buster Posey, Brooklyn
SS Carlos Correa, Ottawa
DH J.D. Martinez, Cleveland
LF Bryce Harper, Cleveland
1B Justin Bour, Boston
2B Daniel Murphy, Vancouver
CF Mike Trout, Chicago
LF Giancarlo Stanton, Chicago
3B Adrian Beltre, Calgary