Chicago, Oakland sweep postseason league awards

Chicago stars Mike Trout and Clayton Kershaw won the North League’s individual awards for the 2016 season, while Oakland’s duo of Paul Goldschmidt and Zack Greinke earned the South League hardware.

Greinke edged Athletes teammate Dallas Kuechel in a tight race for the SL Cy Young Award. Greinke received seven first place votes to Kuechel’s five and won by just four points (50-46).

Greinke led the league with a 2.29 ERA with a 23-1 record, while Kuechel went 25-2 with a 2.29 ERA. Greinke held hitters to a league-low triple slash line (average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage) of .187/.247/.290, with a 0.91 WHIP.

Kershaw was a unanimous choice for the NL Cy Young Award after placing second in 2015. He went 19-7 with a league-best 2.47 ERA and 300 strikeouts. Opposing batters managed just a .241 on-base percentage and a .320 slugging percentage against Kershaw.

His win was the fourth in six seasons for the Cardinals.

Goldschmit became the second straight Oakland hitter to win the SL Most Valuable Player award, following the since-traded Jose Altuve. He received seven of the 12 first-place votes to outdistance Miguel Cabrera, who spent most of the season with Compton after starting in Memphis.

Goldschmidt led the SL with 154 RBIs while finishing second in homers with 38 and runs with 125. He was runner-up to Cabrera in both batting (.339-.323) and OPS (.980-.959).

Trout received seven of the 12 first-place votes for NL MVP to finish ahead of Cleveland’s Bryce Harper. It’s the second award in three seasons for Trout, who led the NL with 137 RBIs and 126 runs scored.

Trout also hit 43 homers while leading the league in slugging percentage at .571.