Category Archives: PLAYOFFS

Carpenter, Britton send Cardinals past Dublin for crown

Cardinals champions 2017

Matt Carpenter broke a ninth-inning tie with a two-run home run and Zach Britton induced three ground ball outs in the bottom half as the Chicago Cardinals earned a 4-2 victory over Dublin in Game 6 to win their sixth PGBL World Series Championship.

Britton, who saved Chicago’s first three wins and did not allow a run in the series, struck out two in two innings for the victory and was named the MVP.

The Cardinals were held scoreless into the eighth inning by Guinness starter Marcus Stroman until Carpenter’s two-out homer cut Dublin’s lead to 2-1. After Mike Trout reached on a Stroman error, Kenley Jansen walked three straight batters to force in the tying run.

In the ninth, Giancarlo Stanton hit a one-out double off Brad Hand and Carpenter sent a 2-0 pitch over the center field wall to give Chicago the lead.

The Cardinals built a 3-0 series lead before Dublin won Games 4 and 5 on the road to send the series back to Wrigley Field.

Playoffs bring abundance of storylines, excitement


Four teams with a combined 12 championships and four seeking their first title comprise a 2017 PGBL playoff field that features three 100-win teams and two division rivalries in the first round.

The defending champion Chicago Cardinals open their quest for a sixth crown and 12th North League pennant as the league’s top seed against Norris Division foe Boston. The Braves eclipsed 90 wins for a second straight season after totaling just 66 in the prior two years.

Overall top seed Dublin’s prize for winning 121 games and the Confederate Division crown is a first-round South League matchup with the upset-minded Flagstaff Elk, who are making their first postseason appearance since 2010 and third overall. The Guinness are seeking the franchise’s third overall title but its first since relocating from Key West.

Three-time champ Memphis won 118 games but will go on the road for its series opener with two-time winner Tijuana. The Melee last made the playoffs in 2012 when they lost a tight five-game division series to the Tequila Swiggers, who went on to a repeat crown.

In the other NL matchup, the tense season-long Maple Leaf Division rivalry between Vancouver and Calgary continues after both teams finished the regular season at 92-60. The Roughnecks held the tiebreaker and sealed home field advantage by beating the Wildcats in the first two of their season-ending four-game matchup on the road. Both teams are seeking their first World Series appearance in their current location.

Cardinals capture fifth PGBL championship

Mark Teixeira’s three-run home run capped a five-run fifth inning and Matt Carpenter added another three-run shot in the eighth as the Chicago Cardinals captured their fifth PGBL championship with an 8-3 win over Oakland in Game 6 of the World Series at The Coliseum.

Garret Cole setWorld Series champs 2016tled down after the Athletes’ three-run first to finish with seven strikeouts in seven-plus innings. Carlos Villanueva retired all four batters he faced, striking out Francisco Cervelli to finish Chicago’s second title in four seasons.

Chicago won the final four games after Oakland took the first two contests at home. Teixeira hit .412 in the Series with three homers and eight RBIs to earn MVP honors.

The Cardinals won 98 games in the regular season but entered the postseason as the North League’s No. 4 seed after finishing third in the Norris Division’s tight three-team battle. Chicago ousted Ottawa in a four-game Divisional Series meeting and topped Cleveland in a six-game NLCS.

The 123-win Athletes were pushed to the brink by Las Vegas in their Division Series before advancing with a 6-2 win in Game 5. Oakland then got three shutouts in the final four games to claim a 4-2 SLCS win over defending champion St. Louis.

Gamblers complete posteason field as Clydesdales hope to repeat

St. Louis heads into the 2016 Post Season looking to repeat on its first PGBL World Series win in 2015, though faces a competitive field that includes a Oakland Athletes team that won 123 regular season games.

The Athletes dominated the South League’s Cactus division, with a .759 win percentage. Oakland is joined by St. Louis, winners of the Confederate Division, Tijuana and Las Vegas, who joined the post season after winning a one-game playoff with Compton. St. Louis and Tijuana meet in the Division Series, and Oakland squares off with Las Vegas.

In the North League, Ottawa ran away with the Maple Leaf Division to set up a Division Series match-up against Norris Division foe, Chicago. The Argonauts are returning to the Postseason after losing to 2015 World Series runner-up Pittsburgh in the Division Series a year ago. In the other North League Division Series, Norris Division Champions, Cleveland will face Norris Division runner-up Boston.

The Postseason will be played in its entirety on Sunday. For full 2016 Post Season action, visit here.

Vegas tops Compton to earn final playoff berth

Kole Calhoun’s 7th inning Grand Slam erased a 5-2 deficit and helped the Las Vegas Gamblers defeat the Compton Outlawz 7-5 in a one-game tiebreak game and earn the final spot in the 2016 PGBL Postseason.

Calhoun’s homer came off of Kevin Siegrist who entered the inning with two men aboard in place of Danny Salazar. Siegrist gave up an infield single to Kevin Pillar before giving up the pivotal Grand Slam. Mitch Moreland completed the comeback with a solo shot in the next at bat.

The Outlawz jumped out to an early 5-2 lead, chasing Cody Anderson after three innings. Scott Kazmir replaced Anderson and pitched 4.1 scoreless before giving way to Francisco Rodriguez to earn the ninth inning save.

Full Box Score



1 2