Mullins walkoff homer in 10th caps NL’s All-Star victory

Nashville center fielder Cedric Mullins homered on the first pitch in the bottom of the 10th inning to give the North League a 5-4 victory in the 21st PGBL All-Star Game.

Mullins greeted Flagstaff’s Jose Berrios with a drive over the Great American Ball Park fence to finish off a back-and-forth affair as neither team ever led by more than a run.

Homers bookended the contest, as Berkeley catcher Yasmani Grandal opened with a shot off Toronto’s Shohei Ohtani to put the South ahead right away.

Tigers second baseman Jose Altuve picked up for his Toronto teammate with a two-run single off Dublin starter Jacob deGrom in the bottom of the second.

The Berks’ Tyler O’Neill put the SL back in front with a two-run shot off Boston’s Zach Wheeler in the top of the fourth, but Chicago shortstop Brandon Crawford responded with a two-run poke off Berkeley ace Max Scherzer in the bottom half.

The South got even in the top of the eighth against Cardinals closer Mark Melancon with Aaron Judge of St. Louis singling home Whit Merrifield of Las Vegas. Melancon managed to preserve a tie by stranding Judge at third.

Liam Hendriks of Pittsburgh and Jordan Romano of Compton set both sides down in order in the ninth, and Hendriks worked a second perfect inning in the 10th to set the stage for Mullins.

With the win, the NL reclaimed the series lead at 11-10 while improving to 3-0 in extra innings, with the first two wins coming as the visitors (2003, 2015).

All-Star reserves: Scherzer earns 7th nod

Max Scherzer now stands alone with the most PGBL All-Star selections without making a start.

Scherzer headlines the list of South League pitchers and reserves chosen for the 2022 game being hosted by the London Arsenal. The North League’s bench includes Ottawa third baseman Josh Donaldson, who matches NL starting second baseman Jose Altuve of Toronto as a six-time All-Star.

One of a pair of All-Star aces for league-leading Berkeley, Scherzer earned his seventh selection to the midseason showcase, putting him in a five-way tie for second most behind Albert Pujols – and breaking a tie with Chris Sale for the most appearances without beginning the game.

Conversely, Scherzer’s fellow Berks ace Trevor Bauer was picked for his first All-Star Game, joining 32 newcomers split evenly among the two rosters. It’s a group that includes a host of veterans, including Chicago shortstop Brandon Crawford, London southpaw Danny Duffy and Boston pitcher Zach Wheeler.

Berkeley led the way with seven total All-Stars, followed by Memphis with six. Five Arsenal members will play in front of the home crowd at Great American Ball Park, as London matched Chicago for the most NL representatives with five apiece.

Six players will be their team’s lone representative, including starting SL designated hitter Bryce Harper of Tijuana. Josh Hader was also chosen from the Tequila Swiggers before being traded to Toronto, and is replaced on the squad by Flagstaff’s Jose Berrios. The other solo selections are Cedric Mullins of Nashville, Brandon Lowe of Vancouver, Whit Merrifield of Las Vegas, Anthony Santander of Louisville and Tony Kemp of Twin City.

A total of 36 first-time All-Stars were split evenly among the two teams. Included among them were 10 starters, three for the South (Wander Franco, Matt Olson and Tyler O’Neill) and five for the North (Byron Buxton, Brandon Crawford, Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Frank Schwindel and Ramon Urias).


Jacob deGrom, Dublin (SP)
Trevor Bauer, Berkeley
Jose Berrios, Flagstaff**
Corbin Burnes, Memphis
Emmanuel Clase, Dublin
Josh Hader, Tijuana*
Lance Lynn, St. Louis
Jordan Romano, Compton
Casey Sadler, Berkeley
Max Scherzer, Berkeley
Ranger Suarez, St. Louis
Cole Sulser, St. Louis
Brandon Woodruff, Compton
Carson Kelly, Berkeley
Paul Goldschmidt, Compton
Whit Merrifield, Las Vegas
Tony Kemp, Twin City
Bo Bichette, Flagstaff
Jose Ramirez, Dublin
Bryan Reynolds, Compton
Luis Robert, Memphis
Aaron Judge, St. Louis
Anthony Santander, Louisville
Yordan Alvarez, Flagstaff
C – Yasmani Grandal
CF – Fernando Tatis Jr.
RF – Juan Soto
3B – Nolan Arenado
DH – Bryce Harper
LF – Tyler O’Neill
1B – Matt Olson
SS – Trea Turner
2B – Wander Franco
* – traded to North League; ** – replacement selection


Shohei Ohtani, Toronto (SP)^
Danny Duffy, London
Max Fried, Chicago
Liam Hendriks, Pittsburgh
Tanner Houck, Toronto
Tyler Matzek, Cleveland
Mark Melancon, Chicago
Charlie Morton, Chicago
Carlos Rodon, Cleveland
Spencer Turnbull, Boston
Julio Urias, Cleveland
Zach Wheeler, Boston
Jason Castro, Chicago
Ty France, Ottawa
Tim Anderson, London
Brandon Lowe, Vancouver
Xander Bogaerts, London
Josh Donaldson, Ottawa
Teoscar Hernandez, London
Cedric Mullins, Nashville
Kyle Tucker, Calgary
Michael Brantley, Ottawa
Pete Alonso, Pittsburgh
RF – Ronald Acuna
LF – Ketel Marte
1B – Frank Schwindel
DH – Vladimir Guerrero Jr.
CF – Byron Buxton
C – Salvador Perez
SS – Brandon Crawford
2B – Jose Altuve
3B – Ramon Urias
^ – also selected as an outfield reserve

Ohtani named two-way All-Star, will oppose SL ace deGrom

Drafted in the ninth round and traded three times before his breakout season, Shohei Ohtani is now the first two-way All-Star in PGBL history.

The Toronto Tigers ace/right fielder has been named as the North League’s starting pitcher for the annual showcase, this year hosted by London, the franchise that drafted him in 2013.

Ohtani boasts an NL-best 10-1 record with 118 strikeouts and a 3.18 ERA that ranks third in the league. He’s played in every game, typically batting fifth or sixth as the starting right fielder in the Tigers’ potent lineup.

The NL’s starting designated hitter in 2019, Ohtani merits All-Star honors as both a hitter and a pitcher and has a case to be in the NL starting lineup with 22 home runs and a .952 OPS. While he is being chosen as a two-way honoree, he will not bat in the game and instead will start on the mound.

He’ll be opposed by perennial SL opener Jacob deGrom of Dublin, who earns his fifth straight appearance and will start the game for the fourth time.

Ohtani will face an SL lineup with four representatives from reigning PGBL champion Memphis: first baseman Matt Olson, second baseman Wander Franco, shortstop Trea Turner and right fielder Juan Soto.

SL-leading Berkeley has three in the lineup in catcher Yasmani Grandal, third baseman Nolan Arenado and left fielder Tyler O’Neill. The South order will be rounded out by Flagstaff’s Fernando Tatis Jr. in center field and Tijuana’s Bryce Harper as the DH.

A pair of Ohtani’s Tigers teammates will start for the NL: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. will be the DH while second baseman Jose Altuve makes his fifth All-Star start in six appearances.

Boston will supply both starting corner infielders for the North in rookie slugger Frank Schwindel at first and Ramon Urias at third. Calgary’s Salvador Perez gets the nod behind the plate and Chicago shortstop Brandon Crawford grabs the last infield spot, while an athletic NL outfield features Byron Buxton of Cleveland, Ronald Acuna of Pittsburgh, and Ketel Marte of the host Arsenal.

Reserves will be announced later.

South League

C – Yasmani Grandal, Berkeley
1B – Matt Olson, Memphis
2B – Wander Franco, Memphis
SS – Trea Turner, Memphis
3B – Nolan Arenado, Berkeley
LF – Tyler O’Neill, Berkeley
CF – Fernando Tatis Jr., Flagstaff
RF – Juan Soto, Memphis
DH – Bryce Harper, Tijuana
SP – Jacob deGrom, Dublin
North League
C – Salvador Perez, Calgary
1B – Frank Schwindel, Boston
2B – Jose Altuve, Toronto
SS – Brandon Crawford, Chicago
3B – Ramon Urias, Boston
LF – Ketel Marte, London
CF – Byron Buxton, Cleveland
RF – Ronald Acuna, Pittsburgh
DH – Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto
SP – Shohei Ohtani, Toronto

All-time All-Star roster