Healy walkoffLAS VEGAS – Ryon Healy drilled a walkoff grand slam for his second homer in the final two innings as the South League halted its seven-year All-Star Game skid with a thrilling 9-5 victory at Citi Field.

2017asglogoHealy, the Memphis designated hitter selected as the final reserve on the SL roster, followed Mookie Betts’ tying double and an intentional walk to Matt Wieters by driving a 1-2 pitch from Dellin Betances over the left field wall.

An inning earlier, Healy led off by driving Nate Jones’ first pitch out to left after the North broke a 3-3 tie in the top half against Cam Bedrosian on Daniel Murphy’s RBI double and a sacrifice fly by Kris Bryant.

Healy 2Trea Turner started the SL ninth by beating out a grounder to second baseman DJ LeMahieu. Betances relieved Jones and Luis Valbuena coaxed a walk after fouling off a 2-2 offering. Betts then lined a double to the left field gap, scoring Turner and setting the stage for Healy.

The slam earned a win for Kenley Jansen, who struck out three of the four batters he faced after the SL registered just four strikeouts in the first eight innings. Betances suffered his second All-Star loss in three years, one with each side.

Betts scored three times for the South, coming home on a Jon Lester wild pitch in a two-run first and on a Gary Sanchez double off Corey Kluber in the third that made it 3-1. The NL pulled even on solo homers by Yoenis Cespedes off Chris Devenski in the fourth and Josh Donaldson off Addison Reed in the seventh.

Healy became the first Melee to claim MVP honors as the South won its first All-Star game since since 2009 and improved to 7-9 overall. Toronto will host the 2018 All-Star Game at Nationals Park.

Box score

Melee lead way with seven All-Star picks

Three additional Memphis players were chosen to join four elected teammates in giving the Melee a PGBL-high seven representatives in the 2017 All-Star Game.

Jon Lester of Boston and Jose Fernandez of Flagstaff have been named the starting pitchers for the July 13 (season date) game hosted by Las Vegas at City Field.

Memphis had rookie Chris Devenski, reliever Cam Bedrosian and infielder Ryon Healy among the 15 pitchers and reserves named to the South League team. League-leading Dublin followed with five selections as Jon Gray, Marcus Stroman and Kenley Jansen were included on the SL pitching staff.

London and Vancouver had the most players on the North League squad with four each, as Arsenal teammates Yadier Molina and Dellin Betances and a Wildcats trio of Daniel Murphy, Kris Bryant and Chris Sale were among the additions.

With Fernandez as its only nod, Flagstaff was one of five SL teams to put one player on the roster. Starting center fielder Tyler Naquin of Twin City, Oakland infielder Justin Turner, St. Louis outfielder Starling Marte and Louisville catcher Matt Wieters will serve as lone representatives.

Chicago is the only NL team with one player at the game as the league-leading defending champions did not add any pitchers or reserves to elected third baseman Evan Longoria. Brooklyn’s Miguel Sano, who tied Longoria, will be in the NL starting lineup, while the SL will start Dublin outfielder Christian Yelich, who finished even with Memphis’ Adam Jones.

Tijuana matched London and Vancouver with four selections, adding reliever Addison Reed to its trio of elected starters. Maple Leaf leader Calgary has the most representatives among teams without an elected starter at three, with second baseman DJ LeMahieu joining pitchers J.A. Happ and Nate Jones.

Rounding out the NL pitching staff are Toronto’s Max Scherzer and Kevin Gausman, Pittsburgh’s Corey Kluber and Cleveland’s Carlos Martinez. The NL bench will include Tribe outfielder J.D. Martinez and Ottawa third baseman Josh Donaldson.

Reliever Davild Phelps and third baseman Nick Castellanos will represent the host Gamblers. Participating for Compton will be starter Robbie Ray and infielder Luis Valbuena.

Jon Lester (SP), Boston
Dellin Betances, London
Kevin Gausman, Toronto
J.A. Happ, Calgary
Nate Jones, Calgary
Corey Kluber, Pittsburgh
Carlos Martinez, Cleveland
Chris Sale, Vancouver
Max Scherzer, Toronto
Evan Longoria, Chicago (elected)
Kris Bryant, Vancouver
Josh Donaldson, Ottawa
DJ LeMahieu, Calgary
J.D. Martinez, Cleveland
Yadier Molina, London
Daniel Murphy Vancouver
2B Jose Altuve, London
SS Corey Seager, London
1B Freddie Freeman, Pittsburgh
DH Miguel Cabrera, Cleveland
RF Nelson Cruz, Vancouver
LF Yoenis Cespedes, Boston
3B Miguel Sano, Brooklyn
C Jonathan Lucroy, Ottawa
CF Charlie Blackmon, Brooklyn

Jose Fernandez (SP), Flagstaff
Cam Bedrosian, Memphis
Chris Devenski, Memphis
Jon Gray, Dublin
Kenley Jansen, Dublin
David Phelps, Las Vegas
Robbie Ray, Compton
Addison Reed, Tijuana
Marcus Stroman, Dublin
Adam Jones, Memphis (elected)
Nick Castellanos, Las Vegas
Ryon Healy, Memphis
Starling Marte, St. Louis
Justin Turner, Oakland
Luis Valbuena, Compton
Matt Wieters, Louisville
SS Trea Turner, Memphis
1B Joey Votto, Tijuana
RF Mookie Betts, Dublin
C Gary Sanchez, Memphis
DH Edwin Encarnacion, Tijuana
3B Nolan Arenado, Memphis
2B Robinson Cano, Tijuana
LF Christian Yelich, Dublin
CF Tyler Naquin, Twin City

Batting stats | Pitching stats

Four unanimous All-Star picks among elected starters

London second baseman Jose Altuve and Boston outfielder Yoenis Cespedes joined Memphis rookie catcher Gary Sanchez and Dublin outfielder Mookie Betts as unanimous picks to start in the 2017 All-Star Game.

The Melee had the most selections with four as Sanchez will be joined by shortsop Trea Turner, third baseman Nolan Arenado and outfielder Adam Jones, who tied Dublin’s Christian Yelich for the final South League outfield spot.

Tijuana put three players on the SL squad in first baseman Joey Votto, second baseman Robinson Cano and designated hitter Edwin Encarnacion. Twin City outfielder Tyler Naquin completes the SL starters.

The North League features 10 players representing eight teams, with shortstop Corey Seager joining keystone mate Altuve in giving the Arsenal two starters. Brooklyn also had two selections in outfielder Charlie Blackmon and Miguel Sano, who tied Chicago’s Evan Longoria at third base.

Rounding out the outfield alongside Cespedes and Blackmon will be Vancouver’s Nelson Cruz while Cleveland’s Miguel Cabrera will serve as the designated hitter. Jonathan Lucroy of Ottawa will start behind the plate while Pittsburgh’s Freddie Freeman earned the nod at first base.

2017 All-Star starters
C – Jonathan Lucroy, Ottawa
1B – Freddie Freeman, Pittsburgh
2B – Jose Altuve, London*
SS – Corey Seager, London
3B – Evan Longoria, Chicago
(tie) – Miguel Sano, Brooklyn
OF – Yoenis Cespedes, Boston*
OF – Nelson Cruz, Vancouver
OF – Charlie Blackmon, Brooklyn
DH – Miguel Cabrera, Cleveland

C – Gary Sanchez, Memphis*
1B – Joey Votto, Tijuana
2B – Robinson Cano, Tijuana
SS – Trea Turner, Memphis
3B – Nolan Arenado, Memphis
OF – Mookie Betts, Dublin*
OF – Tyler Naquin, Twin City
OF – Adam Jones, Memphis
(tie) – Christian Yelich, Dublin
DH – Edwin Encarnacion, Tijuana

All-Star ballot submissions requested


Teams are requested to email Joe ([email protected]) with the nine players (one at each position) they wish to be included on this year’s All-Star Game ballots.

Las Vegas will be the host of this year’s All-Star Game at Citi Field (season date of July 13), with the South League trying to snap the North’s seven-game winning streak.

Ballots will be finalized and distributed by 7 a.m. on Monday, Feb. 6, so nominations must be received by 11:30 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 5. Joe will complete the ballots for teams that fail to offer nominees or submit only partial nominations. Thank you.