NL wins All-Star game in 10 innings

Josh DonaldsonOttawa’s Josh Donaldson tied the game with a pinch-hit home run in the ninth inning and Pittsburgh’s Troy Tulowitzki singled home the Argonauts’ Denard Span with the winning run in the 10th inning as the North League claimed a 5-4 win in the 2015 All-Star Game at Wrigley Field.

Donaldson, the game’s MVP, drove the first pitch he saw from Dellin Betances deep down the left field line with one out in the ninth.

Troy TulowitzkiSpan led off the 10th with a single through the right side, moved up when Betances hit Kennys Vargas with a pitch and scored from second on Tulowitzki’s liner up the middle.

Craig Kimbrel struck out Yasmani Grandal on three pitches to end the game.

The North jumped out to a 1-0 lead when Carlos Gomez homered on the third pitch of the night from Johnny Cueto. NL starter Collin McHugh allowed one hit and struck out five in his two innings.

The South struck for two runs off Adam Wainwright in the third on back-to-back doubles by Jose Altuve and Starling Marte. Marte doubled off Chris Sale in the fifth and came home on Andrew McCutchen’s single off Tyson Ross for a 3-1 SL lead.

The North tied it in the eighth on consecutive RBI doubles by Daniel Murphy and Vargas off Ken Giles, but the South moved back ahead in the bottom half when David Peralta’s single of Kelvin Herrera plated Mookie Betts.

The North nearly went ahead in the ninth after Donaldson’s homer. Betances hit Nelson Cruz with a pitch and Jonathan Lucroy doubled to left. But Matt Holiday and Danny Santana combined on a perfect relay to Grandal to gun down Cruz at the plate.

Box Score: 2015 PGBL All-Star Game



Altuve, Gomez to lead off in All-Star Game

PGBL batting leader Jose Altuve of the Oakland Athletes has been chosen to lead off for the host South League in the All-Star Game. British Columbia’s Carlos Gomez will bat first for the North League in the annual showcase, hosted this season by the Dublin Guinness at Wrigley Field.


NL Lineup 3

North League

1. Carlos Gomez (BC), CF

2. Josh Harrison (Calgary), 2B

3. Anthony Rizzo (Cleveland), 1B

4. Troy Tulowitzki (Pittsburgh), SS

5. Victor Martinez (Calgary), DH

6. Miguel Cabrera (London), 3B

7. Matt Kemp (Cleveland), RF

8. Buster Posey (Brooklyn), C

9. Mike Trout (Chicago), LF

SP – Collin McHugh (Ottawa)

SL Lineup 4

South League

1. Jose Altuve (Oakland), 2B

2. Starling Marte (Twin City), LF

3. Andrew McCutchen (Oakland), CF

4. Jose Bautista (Memphis), RF

5. Devin Mesoraco (Dublin), C

6. C.J. Cron (Las Vegas), DH

7. Paul Goldschmidt (Oakland), 1B

8. Adrian Beltre (St. Louis), 3B

9. Danny Santana (Las Vegas), SS

SP – Johnny Cueto (Memphis)

Ottawa adds four All-Stars; McHugh, Cueto to start

2015 All-Star LogoOttawa Argonauts pitchers Collin McHugh and Jake McGee, catcher Jonathan Lucroy and outfielder Denard Span were named among the 15 North League reserves and pitchers for the upcoming 2015 All-Star Game hosted by the Dublin Guinness at Wrigley Field.

The quartet joined elected third baseman Josh Donaldson to give the NL-leading Argos five All-Stars, one less than Oakland and as many as St. Louis in the SL. McHugh will get the start on the mound opposite Memphis’ Johnny Cueto, who will make his second All-Star start.

Infielder Juan Uribe and pitchers Dallas Keuchel and Mark Melancon join Athletes elected starters Paul Goldschmidt, Jose Altuve and Andrew McCutchen. The added Clydesdales joining voted entries Adrian Beltre and David Peralta are first baseman Lucas Duda, outfielder Matt Holliday and reliever Sean Doolittle.

Holliday, chosen for the fifth time, has the most All-Star experience of any of the 30 players filling out the rosters, while 19 of the additions will be first-time All-Stars.

Four of the reserves will be making their fourth appearance: Pittsburgh pitchers Adam Wainwright and Craig Kimbrell, Louisville third baseman Aramis Ramirez and Compton pitcher Jon Lester. Ramirez will serve as the Long Rifles’ lone representative despite his recent trade to Oakland.

Flagstaff catcher Yasmani Grandal and Twin City outfielder Mookie Betts are the final SL bench players. Filling out the NL reserves will be London rookie first baseman Jose Abreu, Vancouver second baseman Daniel Murphy, Cleveland shortstop Starlin Castro, Boston designated hitter Kennys Vargas and Wildcats DH/OF Nelson Cruz.

The rest of the NL pitching staff features Brooklyn’s Tyson Ross, Tribe relievers Wade Davis and Kelvin Herrera and Vancouver’s Chris Sale, who’s status is uncertain with an injury that’s kept him out since July 2.

The SL staff is completed by relievers Pedro Strop of the Guinness, Ken Giles of the Melee, Dellin Betances of the Outlawz and Tijuana representative Kevin Quackenbush.


North League

Catcher – Jonathan Lucroy, Ottawa

Infielders – Jose Abreu, London; Starlin Castro, Cleveland; Daniel Murphy, Vancouver; Kennys Vargas, Boston

Outfielders – Nelson Cruz, Vancouver; Denard Span, Ottawa

Pitchers – Collin McHugh, Ottawa (SP); Wade Davis, Cleveland; Kelvin Herrera, Cleveland; Craig Kimbrell, Pittsburgh; Jake McGee, Ottawa; Tyson Ross, Brooklyn; Chris Sale, Vancouver (injured); Adam Wainwright, Pittsburgh

South League

Catcher – Yasmani Grandal, Flagstaff

Infielders – Lucas Duda, St. Louis; Aramis Ramirez, Louisville (traded to Oakland); Juan Uribe, Oakland

Outfielders – Mookie Betts, Twin City; Matt Holliday, St. Louis

Pitchers – Johnny Cueto, Memphis (SP); Dellin Betances, Compton; Sean Doolittle, St. Louis; Ken Giles, Memphis; Dallas Keuchel, Oakland; Jon Lester, Compton; Mark Melancon, Oakland; Kevin Quackenbush, Tijuana; Pedro Strop, Dublin

First-timers dominate All-Star starters

2015 All-Star LogoOakland first baseman Paul Goldschmidt was among eight first-time PGBL All-Stars elected to start in the 2015 showcase scheduled for July 17 at Wrigley Field, including seven on the South League squad that will play as the home team.

But the SL won’t lack for experience as Clydesdales third baseman Adrian Beltre earned his sixth All-Star appearance, one more than North League picks Miguel Cabrera of London and Matt Kemp of Cleveland.

Goldschmidt, who tied NL first base counterpart Anthony Rizzo of the Tribe as the leading vote-getters, joins teammate Jose Altuve, catcher Devin Mesoraco of host Dublin, shortstop Danny Santana and designated hitter C.J. Cron of Las Vegas, and outfielders David Peralta of St. Louis and Starling Marte of Twin City as the SL first-timers.

Peralta and Marte tied for the third starting outfield spot, joining the Athletes’ Andrew McCutchen and Memphis’ Jose Bautista. Both leagues elected 10 starters as Cabrera tied Ottawa’s Josh Donaldson for the NL third base spot.

Calgary second baseman Josh Harrison was the only first-timer elected to start for the NL. Brooklyn catcher Buster Posey and Pittsburgh shortstop Troy Tulowitzki round out the infield, while Chicago’s Mike Trout and British Columbia’s Carlos Gomez join Kemp in the outfield. The Roughriders’ Victor Martinez was chosen to start as the DH.

Cabrera was elected to start for a third straight year, alternating between leagues. Tulowitzki and Gomez also started a year ago. Kemp will be making his fifth start.

Pitchers and reserves will be announced on Monday.


North League

C – Buster Posey, Brooklyn

1B – Anthony Rizzo, Cleveland

2B – Josh Harrison, Calgary

SS – Troy Tulowitzki, Pittsburgh

3B – Miguel Cabrera, London; Josh Donaldson, Ottawa (tie)

OF – Mike Trout, Chicago

OF – Carlos Gomez, British Columbia

OF – Matt Kemp, Cleveland

DH – Victor Martinez, Calgary

South League

C – Devin Mesoraco, Dublin

1B – Paul Goldschmidt, Oakland

2B – Jose Altuve, Oakland

SS – Danny Santana, Las Vegas

3B – Adrian Beltre, St. Louis

OF – Andrew McCutchen, Oakland

OF – Jose Bautista, Memphis

OF – David Peralta, St. Louis; Starling Marte, Twin City (tie)

DH – C.J. Cron, Las Vegas

1 2